

November 14, 2016 Time 9:00 am-10:00am Organizational Meeting COUNCIL CHAMBERS LACOMBE AB

In Invitees:

- **Members:** Mayor Steve Christie, Chairperson, Mayor, City of Lacombe Mayor Melodie Stol, Vice Chairperson, Mayor, Town of Blackfalds Councillor Ken Wigmore, Lacombe County
- Others: Matthew Goudy, CAO NRDRWWSC Norma MacQuarrie, CAO, City of Lacombe Myron Thompson, CAO, Town of Blackfalds Preston Weran, Director of Infrastructure & Property Services, Town of Blackfalds Terry Hager, County Commissioner, Lacombe County John Van Doesburg, Commission Administrator, C&J Vanco Services Ltd.

<u>AGENDA</u>

- 1. Call to Order by CAO Matthew Goudy
- 2. Nomination of Officers
 - 1) Chairman
 - 2) Vice Chairman
- 3. Attachments:

NRDRWWSC Bylaw1 FINAL

4. Adjournment



AGENDA REPORT

SUBJECT:	Organizational Meeting
PREPARED BY:	John Van Doesburg, Administrator
PRESENTED BY:	Matthew Goudy, CAO
DATE:	November 9, 2016

PURPOSE:

To select the Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Commission for 2017.

BACKGROUND:

An organizational meeting of the Commission is to be held once a year. The Directors shall elect, from amongst their number, the Chair and the Vice Chair at the first Regular Meeting of the Board in November, for a term of three years.

The next step is the election of a Vice Chairman.

ISSUE ANALYSIS: N/A

ALTERNATIVES: N/A

ATTACHMENTS: NRDRWWSC Bylaw1 FINAL

ACTION/RECOMMENDATION:

THAT the Commission elect a Chairman and Vice Chairman for the term of 3 years as stated in the NRDRWWSC Bylaw1, commencing January 1, 2017 and expiring December 31, 2019.

North Red Deer Regional Wastewater Services Commission

BYLAW NO. 1

Being a By-Law of the North Red Deer Regional Wastewater Services Commission (Commission) in the Province of Alberta respecting the appointment of a Board of Directors, Chair and Vice Chair

WHEREAS pursuant to the provisions of the *Municipal Government Act*, R.S.A. 2000, c. M-26; the Board of the Commission must pass a Bylaw respecting the appointment of its Directors and the designation of its Chair, and

WHEREAS such Bylaw does not come into effect until receiving approved from the Minister of Municipal Affairs.

NOW THEREFORE the Board of North Red Deer Regional Wastewater Services Commission, duly assembled, enacts the following:

1. DEFINITIONS

- 1.1 "Act" means the *Municipal Government Act*, R.S.A. 2000, c. M-26;
- 1.2 "Board" means the Board of Directors of the Commission;
- 1.3 "Chair" means the Chairperson of the Board;
- 1.4 "Commission" means the North Red Deer Regional Wastewater Services Commission;
- 1.5 "Director(s)" means the representative of a Member to the Board (the representatives of the Members to the Board) appointed in accordance with this Bylaw;
- 1.6 "Member(s)" means that Member (or those Members) of the Commission set out in the Regulation;
- 1.7 "Regulation" means Alberta Regulation AR 166/2008;

2. BOARD OF DIRECTORS

- 2.1 The Board shall consist of three (3) Directors that shall be appointed as follows:
 - (a) one (1) Director from the Town of Blackfalds;
 - (b) one (1) Director from the City of Lacombe;
 - (c) one (1) Director from Lacombe County;

Each Director must be an elected official of the Member appointing such Director.

- 2.2 The term of office of Director is three years.
- 2.3 A Member may revoke its appointment of a Director and may appoint a replacement Director in writing.

ĺ

- 2.4 An alternate Director, as appointed by a Member, is entitled to act in the place of the Director in respect of who he is named as alternate when the original Director is absent or not able to attend a meeting of the Board.
- 2.5 When an alternate Director acts in place for a Director, the alternate Director is a member of the Board for all purposes.

3. CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

- 3.1 The Directors shall elect, from amongst their number, the Chair and the Vice-Chair at the first Regular Meeting of the Board in November of each year.
- 3.2 The term of office of the Chair and Vice Chair is three years.

4. AMENDMENT

- 4.1 In accordance to section 602.07(2) of the Act, a bylaw to amend this Bylaw does not come into force until the bylaw is passed by a three quarters majority of the Directors and approved by the Minister of Municipal Affairs.
- 4.2 Written notice of a proposed amendment to this Bylaw shall be provided to each Director and each Member not less than thirty (30) days in advance of the meeting at which the amendment is to be considered.

5. BYLAW IN FORCE

5.1 In accordance to section 602.07(2) of the Act, this Bylaw shall come into force and effect upon approval by the Minister of Municipal Affairs.

READ A FIRST TIME this 19 th day of June, 2012.	Carried
READ A SECOND TIME this 19 th day of June, 2012.	Carried
READ A THIRD TIME this 8 th day of April, 2013	Carried
	•
CHAIRPERSON	1
MANÁGER	/
Approved by the Minister of Municipal Affairs this <u>6</u> day of <u>MAY</u>	20 <u>/3</u>
/ // Minister of Muni	cipal Affairs