November 6, 2017
Time 10:00 am-11:00am
Organizational Meeting
COUNCIL CHAMBERS
LACOMBE AB

### **In Invitees:**

Mayor Grant Creasey, Mayor, City of Lacombe Mayor Richard Poole, Mayor, Town of Blackfalds Councillor Ken Wigmore, Lacombe County

**Others:** Matthew Goudy, CAO - NRDRWWSC

Myron Thompson, CAO, Town of Blackfalds

Preston Weran, Director of Infrastructure & Property Services, Town of Blackfalds

Terry Hager, County Commissioner, Lacombe County

Tim Timmons, Manager of Corporate Services, Lacombe County

Keith Boras, Manager of Environmental & Protective Services, Lacombe County

John Van Doesburg, Commission Administrator, C&J Vanco Services Ltd.

### **AGENDA**

- 1. Call to Order by CAO Matthew Goudy
- 2. Board Selection
- 3. Nomination of Officers
  - 1) Chairman
  - 2) Vice Chairman
- 4. Attachments:

NRDRWWSC Bylaw1 FINAL

5. Adjournment

# NRDRWWSC Organizational Meeting

Date: October 26, 2017

Prepared by: Denise Bellabono, Executive Assistant

By: Matthew Goudy, CAO

### **PURPOSE:**

To select the Board of Directors for a three year term and elect amongst their number, the Chair and Vice Chair of the Commission for a three year term.

#### BACKGROUND:

An organizational meeting of the Commission is to be held once a year. Pursuant to the NRDRWWSC Bylaw No. 1;

"2.1 The Board shall consist of three (3) Directors that shall be appointed as follows:

- (a) One (1) Director from the Town of Blackfalds
- (b) One (1) Director from the City of Lacombe
- (c) One (1) Director from Lacombe County"

### **ALTERNATIVES:**

Commission may choose to:

Select the Board and appoint the Chair and Vice-Chair for the three year term.

Administration does not have other alternatives as a Chair and Vice-Chair must be appointed.

### **ATTACHMENTS:**

NRDRWWSC Bylaw No.1

### ACTION/RECOMMENDATION:

THAT the Commission select the Board Members for the North Red Deer Regional Wastewater Services Commission commencing November 6, 2017.

AND

THAT the Commission elect a Chair and Vice Chair for the term of 3 years as stated in the NRDRWWSC Bylaw1, commencing November 6, 2017 and expiring November 6, 2020.

# North Red Deer Regional Wastewater Services Commission

### **BYLAW NO. 1**

Being a By-Law of the North Red Deer Regional Wastewater Services Commission (Commission) in the Province of Alberta respecting the appointment of a Board of Directors, Chair and Vice Chair

**WHEREAS** pursuant to the provisions of the *Municipal Government Act*, R.S.A. 2000, c. M-26; the Board of the Commission must pass a Bylaw respecting the appointment of its Directors and the designation of its Chair, and

**WHEREAS** such Bylaw does not come into effect until receiving approved from the Minister of Municipal Affairs.

**NOW THEREFORE** the Board of North Red Deer Regional Wastewater Services Commission, duly assembled, enacts the following:

### 1. DEFINITIONS

- 1.1 "Act" means the Municipal Government Act, R.S.A. 2000, c. M-26;
- 1.2 "Board" means the Board of Directors of the Commission;
- 1.3 "Chair" means the Chairperson of the Board;
- 1.4 "Commission" means the North Red Deer Regional Wastewater Services Commission;
- 1.5 "Director(s)" means the representative of a Member to the Board (the representatives of the Members to the Board) appointed in accordance with this Bylaw;
- 1.6 "Member(s)" means that Member (or those Members) of the Commission set out in the Regulation;
- 1.7 "Regulation" means Alberta Regulation AR 166/2008;

## 2. BOARD OF DIRECTORS

- 2.1 The Board shall consist of three (3) Directors that shall be appointed as follows:
  - (a) one (1) Director from the Town of Blackfalds;
  - (b) one (1) Director from the City of Lacombe;
  - (c) one (1) Director from Lacombe County;

Each Director must be an elected official of the Member appointing such Director.

- 2.2 The term of office of Director is three years.
- 2.3 A Member may revoke its appointment of a Director and may appoint a replacement Director in writing.

- 2.4 An alternate Director, as appointed by a Member, is entitled to act in the place of the Director in respect of who he is named as alternate when the original Director is absent or not able to attend a meeting of the Board.
- 2.5 When an alternate Director acts in place for a Director, the alternate Director is a member of the Board for all purposes.

### 3. CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

- 3.1 The Directors shall elect, from amongst their number, the Chair and the Vice-Chair at the first Regular Meeting of the Board in November of each year.
- 3.2 The term of office of the Chair and Vice Chair is three years.

### 4. AMENDMENT

- 4.1 In accordance to section 602.07(2) of the Act, a bylaw to amend this Bylaw does not come into force until the bylaw is passed by a three quarters majority of the Directors and approved by the Minister of Municipal Affairs.
- 4.2 Written notice of a proposed amendment to this Bylaw shall be provided to each Director and each Member not less than thirty (30) days in advance of the meeting at which the amendment is to be considered.

### 5. BYLAW IN FORCE

5.1 In accordance to section 602.07(2) of the Act, this Bylaw shall come into force and effect upon approval by the Minister of Municipal Affairs.

READ A FIRST TIME this 19<sup>th</sup> day of June, 2012. Carried

READ A SECOND TIME this 19<sup>th</sup> day of June, 2012. Carried

READ A THIRD TIME this 8<sup>th</sup> day of April, 2013

CHAIRPERSON

Approved by the Minister of Municipal Affairs this 6 day of May 20/3

Minister of Municipal Affairs